IHR emergency committee on monkeypox outbreak in several countries


IHR emergency committee on monkeypox outbreak in several countries

The WHO Director-General is convening an Emergency Committee under Article 48 of the International Health Regulations in relation to the current monkeypox virus outbreak. The meeting will take place on June 23, 2022 and is open to Emergency Committee members and advisors only.

The purpose of this meeting is to provide the Director-General of WHO with opinions on whether the event constitutes a public health emergency of international concern and also on proposed potential interim recommendations.

List of participants


dr Jean-Marie Okwo-Bele – Public Health Advisor, DRC national
Former Director, Division of Vaccines and Immunization, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)


dr Nicola Low – Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health Medicine, Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, Switzerland

other wembers

dr Daniel Bausch – Senior Director, Emerging Threats and Global Health Security, FIND, The Global Alliance for Diagnostics, Switzerland

dr Clarissa Damaso – Associate Professor, Head, Viral Molecular Biology Laboratory, Carlos Chagas Filho Institute of Biophysics, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

dr Inger Damon (Rapporteur) – Director, Division of Serious Consequences and Pathology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States

dr Jake Dunning – Senior Researcher, Center for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Oxford, UK

dr Ousmane Faye – Head, Virology Department, Institut Pasteur de Dakar, Senegal

dr Rinat Maksyutov – General Director, Federal Budgetary Research Institute – State Research Center of Virology and Biotechnology VECTOR, Federal Service for Supervision of Consumer Rights Protection and Human Welfare, Russian Federation

dr Othoman Mellouk – Head, Access to Diagnostics and Medicines, International Treatment Preparedness Coalition, Morocco

dr Dimie Ogoina – Head, Infectious Diseases Unit, Okolobiri General Hospital, Niger Delta University, Bayelsa, Nigeria

dr Nittaya Phanuphak – Executive Director, Institute for HIV Research and Innovation, Bangkok, Thailand

dr Anne Rimoin – Professor of Epidemiology and Gordon Levin Endowed Chair in Infectious Diseases and Public Health, Fielding School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles, United States

dr Tomoya Saito – Director, Center for Emergency Preparedness and Response, National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Japan

dr Kathrin Summermatter – Head of Biosafety Center and Managing Director of BSL3, Institute for Infectious Diseases, University of Bern, Switzerland

dr Daniel Tarantola – Adjunct Research Professor, Institute on Inequalities in Global Health, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, United States of America and Former Director, Division of Vaccines and Immunization, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)

dr Zunyou Wu Chief Epidemiologist, Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Director, Division of HIV Prevention, NCAIDS/China CDC, China and Associate Professor of Epidemiology, University of California, Los Angeles, USA


dr Steve Ahuka – Head, Division of Virology, National Institute for Biomedical Research, Democratic Republic of the Congo

dr Demetre Daskalakis – Director – Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, Centers of Disease Control and Prevention, United States

dr Cleiton Euzebio De Lima – Senior Advisor for Communities and Key Groups, UNAIDS Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland

dr Gregg Gonsalves – Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Yale Institute for Global, Health, Yale School of Public Health, Yale University, United States

dr David Heymann – Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK; Head, Center on Global Health Security, Chatham House, London, United Kingdom; and Former Deputy Director-General for Health Security, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)

dr Wanda Markotter – Director, Center for Viral Zoonoses, Department of Medical Virology, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria, South Africa

dr Gianfranco Spiteri – Group Leader, Epidemic Intelligence Group, European Center for Disease Prevention and Control, Sweden

dr Theresa Tam – Chief Public Health Officer, Public Health Agency of Canada, Canada

You May Also Like