How it works and where you can watch it


How it works and where you can watch it

Cars speed down the Mulsanne Straight during the 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans

Cars speed down the Mulsanne Straight during the 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans
photo: Dean Treml/Red Bull (Getty Images)

The 90th 24 Hours of Le Mans, the most prestigious car race in the world, starts this weekend. Whether you’re new to the World Endurance Championship, haven’t been following all the news leading up to the race, or are an avid fan who just needs a refresher, we’re here to help you follow the event.

What is the 24 Hours of Le Mans?

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is an endurance race, with winners being awarded based on the vehicle who completes the most laps in the 24-hour time limit. The race began in 1923 on public roads in Le Mans, France and has continued ever since, apart from a long hiatus for World War II.

Along with the Indianapolis 500 and the Monaco Grand Prix (or the Formula One World Championship; whichever you prefer), the 24 Hours of Le Mans forms part of racing’s legendary Triple Crown, which celebrates mastery of various motorsport disciplines signaled. To win at Le Mans you not only need a car that can compete for 24 hours, you also need to get along with your teammates and learn how to compete as a team.

The race has also become a major proving ground for automotive technology on the endurance front.

Japan's Ryo Hirakawa drives the Toyota GR010 Hybrid Hypercar WEC during the second free practice session of the 90th edition of the Le Mans 24 Hours endurance race on June 8, 2022.

Japan’s Ryo Hirakawa drives the Toyota GR010 Hybrid Hypercar WEC during the second free practice session of the 90th edition of the Le Mans 24 Hours endurance race on June 8, 2022.
photo: JEAN-FRANCOIS MONIER/AFP (Getty Images)

Le Mans class formats

If endurance racing is new to you, the format goes something like this: Multiple vehicle classes compete on the grid at the same time. While each car ends up being given an overall placement to determine the overall winners, each class also competes for position within its specific sub-group of cars.

For 2022, the Le Mans classes are as follows:

  • Hypercar (5 cars): The top category and cars expected to win the race, hypercars are prototypes used to showcase the highest level of manufacturer engineering.
  • LMP2 (27 cars): LMP2 is a lower tier of prototype racing, with cars being built by one of four different manufacturers and a single engine supplier. This means that they are mostly special machines with the same Gibson V8 engines.
  • GTE Pro (7 cars): The GTE classes both compete in race-ready cars very similar to those on the road. GTE Pro competes with newer machines and the most experienced drivers.
  • GTE AM (23 cars): GTE AM uses slightly older cars than GTE Pro and the driver line-up is often made up of ‘newer’ drivers who may not have as much experience as the Pro drivers.

The 2022 24 Hours of Le Mans starting grid by class


  1. #7 Toyota Gazoo Racing: M Conway, K Kobayashi, J Lopez
  2. #708 Glickenhaus Racing: O Pla, R Dumas, L Derani
  3. #709 Glickenhaus Racing: R Briscoe, R Westbrook, F Mailleux
  4. Alpine ELF Team No. 36: A. Negrão, N. Lapierre, M. Vaxiviere
  5. #8 Toyota Gazoo Racing: S Buemi, B Hartley, R Hirakawa


  1. No. 31 WRT: S. Gelael, R. Frijns, R. Rast
  2. No. 38 Jota: R. Gonzalez, A. da Costa, W. Stevens
  3. No. 41 real team from WRT: R. Andrade, F. Habsburg, N. Nato
  4. #23 United Autosports: A Lynn, O Jarvis, J Pierson
  5. #22 United Autosports: P Hanson, F Albuquerque, W Owen
  6. #9 Prema Orlen Team: R Kubica, L Deletraz, L Colombo
  7. #1 Richard Mille Racing: L Wadoux, S Ogier, C Milesi
  8. #65 Panis Racing: J Canal, N Jamin, J Van Uitert
  9. #5 Team Penske: D Cameron, E Collard, F Nasr
  10. No. 32 Team WRT: R. Ineichen, M. Bortolotti, D. Vanthoor
  11. #11 Duqueine Team: R Bradley, G Rojas, R de Gerus
  12. #37 Cool Racing: Y Ye, R Taylor, N Kruetten
  13. No. 28 iota: O. Rasmussen, E. Jones, J. Aberdein
  14. No. 48 IDEC Sport: P. Lafargue, P. Chatin, P. Pilet
  15. No. 34 Inter Europol competition: J. Smiechowski, A. Brundle, E. Gutierrez
  16. #24 Nielsen Racing: R Sales, M Bell, B Hanley
  17. No. 35 Ultimate: J. Lahaye, M. Lahaye, F. Heriau
  18. No. 44 ARC Bratislava: M. Konopka, B. Viscaal, T. Vautier
  19. #39 Graff Racing: E ​​Trouillet, S Page, D Droux
  20. No. 3 DKR Engineering: L. Horr, J. Glorieux, A. Cougnaud
  21. No. 47: Algarve Pro Racing: S. Flörsch, J. Falb, J. Aitken
  22. No. 83 AF Corse: F. Perrodo, N. Nielsen, A. Rovera
  23. No. 27 CD Sport: C. Cresp, M. Jensen, S. Palette
  24. No. 43 Inter Europol Competition: D. Heinemeier-Hansson, F. Sherer, P. Fittipaldi
  25. #10 Vector sport: N. Müller, R. Cullen, S. Bourdais
  26. #13 TDS Racing x Valliante: P Cimadomo, M Beche, T van der Helm
  27. #45 Algarve Pro Racing: S Thomas, J Allen, R Binder

GTE Pro:

  1. Porsche GT Team No. 92: M. Christensen, K. Estre, L. Vanthoor
  2. #63 Corvette Racing: A Garcia, J Taylor, N Catsburg
  3. Porsche GT Team No. 91: G. Bruni, R. Lietz, F. Makowiecki
  4. #64 Corvette Racing: T Milner, N Tandy, A Sims
  5. No. 51 AF Corse: A. Pier Guidi, J. Calado, D. Serra
  6. No. 52 AF Corse: M. Molina, A. Fuoco, D. Rigon
  7. #74 Riley Motorsports: F Fraga, S Bird, S Van Gisbergen


  1. No. 98 Northwest AMR: P. Dalla Lana, D. Pittard, N. Thiim
  2. #57 Kessel Racing: T Kimura, F Schandorff, M Jensen
  3. No. 54 AF Corse: T. Flohr, F. Castellacci, N. Cassidy
  4. No. 85 Iron Dames: R Frey, M Gatting, S Bovy
  5. #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing: C Ried, S Priaulx, H Tincknell
  6. No. 61 AF Corse: L. Prette, C. Grunewald, V. April
  7. #86 GR Racing: M Wainwright, R Pera, B Barker
  8. #56 Team Project 1: B. Iribe, O. Millroy, B. Barnicoat
  9. No. 46 Team Project 1: M. Cairoli, M. Pedersen, N. Leutwiler
  10. #79 WeatherTech Racing: C MacNeil, J Andlauer, T Merrill
  11. #99 Hardpoint Motorsport: A Haryanto, A Picariello, M Rump
  12. #59 Inception Racing: A West, C Ledogar, M Klein
  13. No. 21 AF Corse: S. Mann, C. Ulrich, T. Vilander
  14. No. 55 Spirit of the Race: D. Cameron, M. Griffin, D. Perel
  15. No. 75 Iron Lynx: P. Ehrlicht, C. Hook, N. Varrone
  16. No. 66 JMW Motorsport: R. van der Zande, M. Kvamme, J. Hart
  17. #777 D’Station Racing: S. Hoshino, T. Fuji, C. Fagg
  18. #88 Dempsey-Proton Racing: F Poordad, M Root, J Heylen
  19. #33 TF Sport: B Keating, H Chaves, M Sorensen
  20. No. 60 iron lynx: C. Shiavoni, A. Balzan, R. Giammaria
  21. No. 93 Proton Competition: M. Fassbender, M. Campbell, Z. Robichon
  22. No. 80 iron lynx: M. Cressoni, G. Fisichella, R. Heitstand
  23. No. 71 Spirit of the race: F. Dezoteux, P. Ragues, G. Aubry

How to watch the 2022 Le Mans 24 Hours

In America, the 24 Hours of Le Mans is available exclusively on the engine trend TV stations or the MotorTrend+ streaming app. Coverage begins Saturday, June 11 at 9:30 a.m. ET, and you can watch flag-to-flag actions. If you’re a MotorTrend+ subscriber, you’ll also be privy to dashcam streams and other special presentations during the race.

You May Also Like